top of page
Search
GITA

Support Your Local GameStop

There are just so few places in the real world that gamers can congregate, especially in these Pandemic times and ever increasing social isolation. With each passing year, The Matrix is looking more and more like an inevitable reality. The recent hype and controversy over GameStop's stock values and trading has given us a moment to reflect on this store's importance and legacy to the Video Game community.


I paid a visit to my nearby GameStop in what seems like an eternity. I may have gone there once before since Covid 19 hit. I can't even remember. I do remember how helpful the staff always was. I remember the interesting blend of customers that came in and out of that small store. Young and old, male and female, this skin tone, that skin tone ect. I remember that time I waited in line behind that very nice couple that was curious about the 2013 version of Tomb Raider which I wholeheartedly recommended to them. I remember those game magazines I use to get in the mail just from having a membership. I remember how easy it was to return games and exchange them for something else. Today was not too different, a few other adults like me were scanning the shelves, picking out games that looked interesting. A few kids were there with their mother grabbing what they wanted and hurrying off to meet "Dad". The television screen blarred in the corner announcing new and upcoming games. I took notice of the Star Wars and Minecraft figures on the shelves. It's good to see that Gamespot is expanding it's offering of collectables and tshirts alongside software and hardware, though I miss the once large selection of PS3 games. The two workers at the register were situated behind what looked like a bullet proof glass window, not that I would blame them for a second with the virus still raging. I thought about them in my head, I wondered what their lives were like and if they enjoyed their job. They seemed friendly enough.



Maybe downloadable games are the more sensible option, but I still prefer something I can hold in my hands. Especially when I'm shelling out a lot of money for it. I don't know how many more extra lives GameSpot has next to it's HUD, but hopefully it will stay a little bit longer and continue being the IRL hub and armory of gamers across the land.


-The Ghost In The Armor

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page